Shiv Sena's Vishwanath Mahadeshwar Elected Mumbai Mayor

Posted March 09, 2017

A former principal of Raje Sambhaji Vidyalaya and Junior College in Santacruz East, Mahadeshwar, 56, is a three-time municipal corporator from Bandra.

Vishwanath Mahadeshwar has been elected the next mayor of the municipal corporation via a show of hands in the BMC mayor elections held this noon.

In the civic elections conducted last month, the Shiv Sena had won 84 seats, while the BJP had come in a close second with 81.

While both parties managed to include more corporators into their fold since then, they fell short of the magical figure of 114 seats, which is required to win a clear majority and elect a Mayor.

Talks over power-sharing to begin at Stormont
Whatever the bickering and wrangling to come, the parties can at least agree on that. The DUP has rejected this outright, but a Sinn Fein victory might force her to go.

Away from Mumbai, the BJP swept Maharashtra, with victories in Pune, Nagpur, Amravati, Akola, Solapur, Ulhasnagar, Pimpri-Chinchwad and Nashik. The Congress, which had bagged 31 seats, had nominated Vitthal Lokare for the position.

Out of the 227 corporators, 218 participated in the voting process. After winning nearly an equal number of seats in an election fought bitterly between the parties, the BJP decided not to challenge the Sena for the Mayor's post, withdrawing its candidate. While the voting was underway, BJP corporators entered the hall, raising slogans in support of chief minister Devendra Fadnavis and Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

For the record, Mr Mahadeshwar became the 76th mayor of the city by securing 171 votes.

The election was conducted by the current Mayor, Snehal Ambekar. However, the Konkan Divisional Caste Scrutiny Committee said it was unable to establish that he was actually from the said caste, and that the oldest documents that had probative value at best showed that Mahadeshwar was from the Wani caste, which is not included in the list notified by the government as OBC. Congress' Suryavansh Thakur who lost to Mahadeshwar in 2007, slapped a case against him, even as Mahadeshwar challenged the committee's decision.

Recently in World News